find a golf course Site Search
Golf Hawaii Blog Subscribe NowMaui & Lana‘i Golf

January 13, 2011

Field Set for Season-Opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai


January 13, 2011

Field Set for Season-Opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai

(Ka’upulehu-Kona, Hawaii) —The 32nd season of the Champions Tour kicks off next week with the Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai, to be held January 17-23 at the Jack Nicklaus-designed Hualalai Course in Ka’upulehu-Kona, HI.

Celebrating its 15th year on the Big Island, the Mitsubishi Electric Championship is the first of 25 official events in the 2011 Charles Schwab Cup race and will feature a 42-player field, the most ever to assemble at this event. Featuring seven members of the World Golf Hall of Fame, the field has won a combined 548 events on the PGA TOUR and Champions Tour, including 77 major championships. The 54-hole event offers a $1.8 million purse and is open to Champions Tour major championship winners of the last five years, official tournament winners from the last two years, seven sponsor invitees reserved for players with a minimum of 30 combined career victories or 15 combined victories with at least one major title and one sponsor choice with 10-plus wins and one major championship.

Last year, in one of the most exciting finishes in Champions Tour history, 60-year-old Tom Watson birdied the final two holes to overtake Champions Tour newcomer Fred Couples. Watson became the 13th oldest winner in Champions Tour history and the wire-to-wire victory was his first in 34 career starts in Hawaii on the two Tours. Both Watson and Couples will be returning this year. Also returning is 2009 champion Bernhard Langer, who will embark on his quest for an unprecedented fourth consecutive Player of the Year honor in 2011. Langer captured five titles, including two consecutive major championships and the Charles Schwab Cup for the first time. He also became the first player to win three straight Player of the Year awards.

Watson and Langer will be joined in the field by five other past champions including Fred Funk (2008), Hale Irwin (1997, 2007), Tom Kite (2002), Loren Roberts (2006) and Fuzzy Zoeller (2004). Six players will be making their first appearances at the championship- Russ Cochran, David Frost, Gary Hallberg, Larry Mize, Ted Schulz and Rod Spittle- each winning for the first time in 2010.

The full field for the 2011 Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai field is as follows:
1. Michael Allen
2. Phil Blackmar
3. Brad Bryant
4. Russ Cochran
5. John Cook
6. Fred Couples
7. Allen Doyle
8. David Eger
9. Keith Fergus
10. Dan Forsman
11. David Frost
12. Fred Funk
13. Mike Goodes
14. Jay Haas
15. Gary Hallberg
16. Bernhard Langer
17. Tom Lehman
18. Mark McNulty
19. Larry Mize
20. Lonnie Nielsen
21. Mark O’Meara
22. Tom Pernice Jr.
23. Nick Price
24. Mike Reid
25. Loren Roberts
26. Eduardo Romero
27. Ted Schulz
28. Jeff Sluman
29. Rod Spittle
30. Bruce Vaughan
31. Bobby Wadkins
32. Denis Watson
33. Tom Watson
34. D.A. Weibring
Sponsor Exemptions
35. Ben Crenshaw
36. Hale Irwin
37. Tom Kite
38. Bruce Lietzke
39. Corey Pavin
40. Craig Stadler
41. Curtis Strange
42. Fuzzy Zoeller

The Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai will air live on the GOLF CHANNEL Friday, January 21 from 6:30-9:00 pm ET and 7:30-10:00 pm ET on Saturday and Sunday, January 22 and 23. To purchase tickets, please call 800-417-2770 or visit

About Mitsubishi Electric US Holdings, Inc.

Mitsubishi Electric US Holdings, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Mitsubishi Electric Corporation, is the umbrella organization for six US affiliates of Mitsubishi Electric. Principal businesses include photovoltaic modules, high-definition televisions and projectors, large-scale display systems, optoelectronic semiconductor devices, automotive electrical components, elevators and escalators, HVAC products, industrial and factory automation devices, and infrastructure equipment and systems. There is also a technical research facility that conducts R & D in a wide variety of business fields. For more information visit

About the Champions Tour
Collectively, the Champions Tour has the most recognizable and accomplished players in the game with many of its 29 members of the World Golf Hall of Fame competing regularly in its events and numerous other major championship winners among its members. The Champions Tour is a membership organization of professional golfers age 50 and older. Conceived in 1980 as the Senior PGA Tour, it started with just four events and purses totaling $475,000. Points earned in official Charles Schwab Cup events in 2011 will determine the Charles Schwab Cup champion, the season-long competition designed to recognize the Champions Tour’s leading player. The Champions Tour's primary purpose is to provide financial opportunities for its players, entertain and inspire its fans, deliver substantial value to its partners, create outlets for volunteers to give back, protect the integrity of the game and generate significant charitable and economic impact in communities in which it plays. In 2010, tournaments on all three Tours (PGA TOUR, Champions Tour and Nationwide Tour) generated $120 million for local charitable organizations, bringing the TOUR’s all-time total of charitable contributions to more than $1.6 billion. The Commissioner of the PGA TOUR is Tim Finchem. Mike Stevens is President of the Champions Tour. The PGA TOUR’s website is, the No. 1 site in golf, and the organization is headquartered in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL.

Phil Stambaugh
Champions Tour
Tel: 904-273-3301

Golf News

/* */