find a golf course Site Search
Golf Hawaii Blog Subscribe NowMaui & Lana‘i Golf

October 18, 2012

As 2013 Hyundai Tournament of Champions field takes form, players have three final chances to qualify

Kapalua, Maui, Hawaii (October 18, 2012)  – With the start of the 2013 PGA TOUR season just around the corner, recent PGA TOUR winners have earned a spot in the season-opening, winners-only Hyundai Tournament of Champions, held at The Plantation Course at Kapalua Resort, Jan. 3-7, 2013. Players now have only three chances left to qualify for the event with The McGladrey Classic this week, the World Golf Championships-HSBC Champions event two weeks later and the final qualifying opportunity at the Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals Classic at Disney, Nov. 8-11.

The action on the PGA TOUR this year has been tremendous. Two of the early 2012 winners have capped their seasons with stellar performances this fall, American Brandt Snedeker and England’s Justin Rose. Snedeker won his second event of the year at the TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola after his thrilling comeback victory at the Farmers Insurance Open in January. The victory at the TOUR Championship made Snedeker the FedExCup champion and solidified his spot as a captain’s pick on the U.S. Ryder Cup squad. Snedeker last played in the event in 2008, finishing T10.

It was Rose who finished runner-up to Snedeker at the TOUR Championship at East Lake Golf Club. Following his runner-up finish, many give Rose the credit for inspiring the European Team’s amazing comeback victory at the Ryder Cup. The Englishman holed two vital putts during Sunday’s singles match on the 17th and 18th holes to give him a pivotal victory over Phil Mickelson. A few weeks after that memorable performance, Rose won the Turkish Airlines World Golf Final. Rose qualified for the Hyundai Tournament of Champions with his victory in March at the World Golf Championships-Cadillac Championship. 

“The whole place is easy for us to be,” said Rose.  “I did a little bit of snorkeling last time I was there even though I’m a little timid of the ocean. I saw a huge turtle swimming around. The tournament is a great challenge with it being a tournament of champions, but there is magic all around that week on and off the course. My wife has missed the trip the first couple of times that I’ve been, so I am very excited to head down there this year with my wife and our kids and really get some time at the resort and on the island with my family. The last two times that I’ve played, I’ve literally gone to play the golf tournament and it seemed almost like I was wasting an opportunity because the Kapalua resort and Maui have so much more to offer.” 

Recent winners in Ryan Moore (Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open) and Jonas Blixt ( Open) have also solidified their spots in the field. Players have until December to officially commit to the Hyundai Tournament of Champions. 

“An exciting PGA TOUR season has translated into an outstanding qualified field for next year’s Hyundai Tournament of Champions,” said Steve Shannon, vice president, Marketing, Hyundai Motor America. “With 18 of the top 21 players from the final FedExCup points list qualified, this has the makings of the best Hyundai Tournament of Champions yet. We can’t wait for the golf, but we also look forward to raising money for the many worthy charities that benefit from the tournament.”

As a reminder, fans have the chance to win a trip to the 2013 Hyundai Tournament of Champions.  Hyundai’s “Road to Kapalua” Facebook sweepstakes kicked-off on Tuesday, Sept. 4, and runs through Wednesday, Oct. 31. Golf fans everywhere can enter for a chance to win a trip to the 2013 Hyundai Tournament of Champions by “liking” Hyundai’s Equus Facebook page and filling out a short entry form. One lucky fan will be chosen to see the world’s best golfers take on Kapalua’s Plantation Course and the beginning of the 2013 PGA TOUR season. Enter at:

Players currently qualified for the 2013 Hyundai Tournament of Champions

Player                    Tournament(s) won
Ben Curtis                    Valero Texas Open
Bill Haas                      Northern Trust Open
Brandt Snedeker           Farmers Insurance Open, TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola
Bubba Watson              Masters Tournament
Carl Pettersson             RBC Heritage
Dustin Johnson             FedEx St. Jude Classic
Ernie Els                      British Open
George McNeill           Puerto Rico Open
Hunter Mahan              Shell Houston Open, World Golf Championship-Accenture Match Play Championship
J.J. Henry                     Reno Tahoe Open
Jason Dufner                Zurich Classic of New Orleans, HP Byron Nelson Championshi
John Huh                     Mayakoba Golf Classic
Johnson Wagner           Sony Open in Hawaii
Jonas Blixt           Open
Justin Rose                   WGC-Cadillac Championship
Keegan Bradley            WGC-Bridgestone Invitational
Kyle Stanley                 Waste Management Phoenix Open
Luke Donald                Transitions Championship
Marc Leishman             Travelers Championship
Mark Wilson                Humana Challenge
Matt Kuchar                 THE PLAYERS
Nick Watney                The Barclays
Phil Mickelson             AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am
Rickie Fowler              Wells Fargo Championship
Rory McIlroy               The Honda Classic, PGA Championship, Deutsche Bank Championship, BMW Championship
Ryan Moore                Justin Timberlake Shriners Hospitals for Children Open
Scott Piercy                   RBC Canadian Open
Scott Stallings                True South Classic
Sergio Garcia                Wyndham Championship
Steve Stricker                Hyundai Tournament of Champions
Ted Potter, Jr.              The Greenbrier Classic
Tiger Woods                Arnold Palmer Invitational, The Memorial Tournament, AT&T National
Webb Simpson             U.S. Open
Zach Johnson               Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial, John Deere Classic

Tickets are on sale now, and there are limited Pro-Am spots available. For more info, visit or call 808-665-9160. 

About Hyundai Motor America
Hyundai Motor America, headquartered in Costa Mesa, Calif., is a subsidiary of Hyundai Motor Co. of Korea. Hyundai vehicles are distributed throughout the United States by Hyundai Motor America and are sold and serviced through more than 800 dealerships nationwide. All Hyundai vehicles sold in the U.S. are covered by the Hyundai Assurance program, which includes the 5-year/60,000-mile fully transferable new vehicle warranty, Hyundai’s 10-year/100,000-mile powertrain warranty, and five years of complimentary Roadside Assistance. Please visit our media website at

About Hyundai Tournament of Champions
Hyundai Tournament of Champions is the season-opening event of the PGA TOUR and held at the legendary Plantation Course, designed by Ben Crenshaw and Bill Coore in Kapalua Resort, Maui, Hawaii. The tournament’s unique format allows only champions from the 2012 PGA TOUR season to qualify for this one-of-a-kind winners-only event. During their stay, tournament guests enjoy world-class accommodations at The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua. Since 1999, the host organizations of the event have distributed more than $4 million to the Maui community.

# # # #

Contact: Chris Reimer, PGA TOUR, 904-273-3286, 

Golf News

/* */